Home / Others / How to send a confidential message to Gmail

How to send a confidential message to Gmail



Google introduced its confidential mode for Gmail in 2018, a configuration that allows people with personal accounts to send messages that may expire, and which prevents recipients from copying their content, forwarding it to others or downloading it.

It's in the news again, since G users who use Gmail will have the ability to use the confidential mode as of June 25. This feature will be activated automatically; Managers will have the ability to turn it off if they wish. You will use the feature if your company uses Gmail, which will be especially useful for business people who need to send confidential documents.

You can use the confidential mode on a desktop or through the Gmail application on the mobile; however, whichever you use, you must activate the confidential mode every time you send a message. Here is how to do it.


In your browser

  • Write a new message
  • Find the icon of a locked clock to the right of the "Send" button (it may be hard to find among all the other icons, but keep looking) and lose
  • A pop-up window will appear allowing you to configure the time parameters during which recipients will have access to your message before it expires.
  • If you like an additional security layer, you can also ask recipients to enter an access code that will be sent to their phone numbers.
  • A message will appear stating that the message is being sent in confidential mode at the bottom of the message.

On the mobile

These are the same, but some of the elements are located in different places than you can find in your browser. The process is the same for the Gmail versions for iOS and Android.

  • Write a message
  • Touch the three vertical dots in the upper right corner of the application, then touch "Confidential mode"
  • As with a browser, you have the option to set how long the recipients should see the message and if it is protected by an access code.
  • Once you have adjusted the settings, a message sent in confidential mode will show a small window at the bottom that details how long the message will last before it expires.

Vox Media has affiliate badociations. These do not influence the editorial content, although Vox Media can earn commissions for products purchased through affiliate links. For more information, see our ethics policy.


Source link